09 July, 2016

Facts About Delhi

Dear Readers,
Today, we are discussing the National Capital  Delhi
Delhi is the one state of the northern India and shares bordering with the States of Uttar Pradesh andHaryana.  The origin of its name is narrated to a King called Raja Dhillu who ruled the area for 14 years at the beginning of the Christian Era. Delhi has an area of 1,483 sq. kms. Its maximum length is 51.90 kms and greatest width is 48.48 kms. The 2001 Census recorded 138.51 lakh population of Delhi with 3.85% annual growth rate and 47.02% decennial growth rate during 1991-2001. Delhi, officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi, is the capital territory of the Republic of India.

Chief Minister:  Arvind Kejriwal
Lt Governor: Najeeb Jung
High Court : High Court, Delhi
Chief Justice: G Rohini
Borders: Uttar Pradesh and Haryana.

Wildlife century:
1. Asola Wild Life Sanctuary
Yamuna (Tributary in India)
1. Bhalswa Lake -  Northeast edge of Delhi and about an hour drive from India Gate.
2. Old Fort (Purana Qila) Lake Southeast of India Gate.
Important Power generation plants:
1. Indraprastha Power Generation  2. Badarpur Thermal Power Station   3. Rajghat Power Station
1.  Indira Gandhi International Airport
2.  Palam Domestic Airport
Important Archeological Monuments/Sites:
1. QUTUB MINAR - The Tallest Monument In India
2. Humayun's Tomb - UNESCO World Heritage site
3. Red Fort - the Symbol of India
4. India Gate - Tribute to our Soldiers
5. Jama Masjid -  India's Largest Islamic Congregation Place
6. Lotus Temple -  Symbol of Peace and Prosperity
7. Parliament House -The Parliament House or Sansad Bhavan is the house where our elected parliamentarians sit and discuss a number of important issues related to national interest.
8. Rashoati Bhavan Rashtrapati Bhavan or President House is an official residence of the President of India.
9. Safdarjung Tomb - One of the Last Mughal Tombs
10. Lodi Tomb - Tomb of Sikandar Lodi is the tomb of the second ruler of the Lodi Dynasty

Important Temples:
1. Akshardham Mandir, New Delhi Akshardham complex is a Hindu mandir, and a spiritual-cultural campus in New Delhi
2. Kalka Mandir -  South Delhi Kalkaji Temple, is a Hindu mandir or temple, dedicated to the Hindu Goddess Kali.
3. Lotus Temple - This temple is built in the shape of a lotus flower
4. Iskon Temple - Sri Sri Radha Parthasarathi Mandir, generally known as the ISKCON Delhi temple
Cabinet Ministers from Delhi:
Dr. Harsh Vardhan, at present Minister of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences was elected from Chandni Chowk, Delhi.
Important Stadium:
1. Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium
2. Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium
3. Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium
4. DDA Siri Fort Sports Complex
5. Yamuna Sports Complex
6. Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Swimming Pool
7. Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium
8. Shivaji Stadium
9. Talkatora Indoor Stadium
10. Ambedkar Stadium
I hope you like this, so kindly comment below the post and do share your response. Thanks for reading :)

No comments:

Post a Comment